Leopoldstadt, Downstate, Into the Woods, and More Win 2024 Artios Awards for Casting | Playbill

Awards Leopoldstadt, Downstate, Into the Woods, and More Win 2024 Artios Awards for Casting

Alex Edelman hosted the New York ceremony March 7.

Joshua Satine in Leopoldstadt Joan Marcus

Winners of the 39th Annual Artios Awards were revealed in simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles, New York, and London March 7, with New York productions of LeopoldstadtDownstateInto the Woods, and more winning in theatrical categories. Alex Edelman hosted the New York event at Edison Ballroom, with Niecy Nash-Betts hosting the L.A. event at the Beverly Hilton and Samantha Morton hosting the London ceremony at White City House.

The annual awards, given by the Casting Society, include seven theatre categories. Leopoldstadt won for Broadway Theatre Comedy or Drama, and Into the Woods took Broadway Musical. New York Theatre Comedy or Drama (encompassing Off-Broadway) went to Downstate, with the accompanying Musical category going to Merrily We Roll Along (for the current Broadway revival's previous Off-Broadway bow). The Inheritance took the Los Angeles Theatre category, with Fiddler on the Roof winning for Special Theatrical Performance. The Regional Theatre category ended in a tie, with both A Chorus Line and What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank receiving honors. The Boleyn tour of SIX: The Musical took the Theatre Tours category.

The evening also saw the presentation of several special non-competitive honors. The Drama Book Shop received The Marion Dougherty New York Apple Award, recognizing its comittment to the New York entertainment industry through collaboration with casting professionals. Matthew Glasner and Josh Ropiequet were given the Associate Casting Director Spotlight Awards, and Francesco Vedovati was honored with The Capelier-Shaw Award for Excellence in Casting. The Creative Collaboration Award went to Jina Jay, Shaheen, and Baig and Jane Arnell, founders of the National Film and Television School's Casting Certificate Course.

See a full list of winners below:

New York Broadway Theatre – Comedy or Drama
: Jim Carnahan, Maureen Kelleher

New York Broadway Theatre – Musical

Into the Woods
: Craig Burns, Geoff Josselson, Bernard Telsey

New York Theatre – Comedy or Drama
: Alaine Alldaffer, JC Clementz

New York Theatre – Musical
Merrily We Roll Along
: Jim Carnahan, Jason Thinger

Los Angeles Theatre
The Inheritance: Part 1 & Part 2
: Phyllis Schuringa

Special Theatrical Performance
Fiddler on the Roof
: Tara Rubin, Merri Sugarman, Becca McCracken (Location Casting)

Regional Theatre – Tie
A Chorus Line
: Stephanie Klapper
What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank
: David Caparelliotis

Theatre Tours
(Boleyn Tour): Tara Rubin, Peter Van Dam, Kevin Metzger-Timson

Feature - Animation
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
: Mary Hidalgo

Feature Big Budget – Comedy
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
: Francine Maisler, Melissa Kostenbauder, Betsy Fippinger (Location Casting), Tara Feldstein Bennett (Location Casting), Chase Paris (Location Casting), Molly Rose (Associate Casting Director)

Feature Big Budget – Drama
Killers of the Flower Moon
: Ellen Lewis, René Haynes, Kate Sprance (Associate Casting Director)

Feature Studio or Independent – Comedy
The Holdovers
: Susan Shopmaker, Lisa Lobel (Location Casting), Angela Peri (Location Casting), Melissa Morris (Associate Casting Director)

Feature Studio or Independent – Drama
Past Lives
: Ellen Chenoweth, Susanne Scheel

Feature Low Budget – Comedy or Drama
: Susan Shopmaker

Feature Micro Budget – Comedy or Drama
Summoning Sylvia
: Steven Tylor O'Connor

The Zeitgeist Award
: Lucy Bevan, Olivia Grant (Associate Casting Director)

Television Pilot and First Season – Comedy
The Bear
: Jeanie Bacharach, Mickie Paskal (Location Casting), Jennifer Rudnicke (Location Casting) AJ Links (Location Casting), Alison Goodman (Associate Casting Director)

Television Pilot and First Season – Drama
The Last of Us
: Victoria Thomas, Corinne Clark (Location Casting), Jennifer Page (Location Casting), Megan Bayliss (Associate Casting Director)

Television Series – Comedy
Reservation Dogs
: Angelique Midthunder, Chris Freihofer (Location Casting), Stacey Rice (Associate Casting Director), Tara Mazzucca (Associate Casting Director)

Television Series – Drama
: Avy Kaufman, Scotty Anderson (Associate Casting Director)

Limited Series
: Charlene Lee, Claire Koonce, Danny Gordon (Associate Casting Director)

Live Television Performance, Variety or Sketch – Comedy, Drama or Musical
A Black Lady Sketch Show
: Erica A. Hart

Reality Series – Structured and Unstructured
Queer Eye
: Danielle Gervais, Pamela Vallarelli, Jessica Jorgensen, Quinn Fegan

Reality Series – Competition
RuPaul’s Drag Race
: Goloka Bolte, Ethan Petersen

Animated Series
Big Mouth
: Julie Ashton

Children’s and Family Pilot and Series– Live Action
American Born Chinese
: Leslie Woo, Julina Baber (Associate Casting Director)

Short Film
: Matthew Glasner

Short Form Series
We’re Doing Good
: Alexa Pereira

Spark – Autism Awareness
: Ken Lazer

Film, Non-Theatrical Release
Fire Island
: Jessica Munks, Andrew Fem (Associate Casting Director)

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!