Update: Best Play Nominee Stereophonic Will Perform at the 2024 Tony Awards After All | Playbill

Tony Awards Update: Best Play Nominee Stereophonic Will Perform at the 2024 Tony Awards After All

Broadway's top honors will be handed out at a starry ceremony June 16 at the David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center.

Company of Stereophonic Julieta Cervantes

More performances and presenters have been added to the upcoming The 77th Annual Tony Awards, most notably a performance from Best Play nominee Stereophonic. While plays haven't been given performance slots during the ceremony for several years, many had expected an exception to be made for this particular title, which follows a band recording an album and features several live performances of original songs penned by Arcade Fire's Will Butler especially for the David Adjmi play.

The move is an about face from an earlier announcement that revealed only currently running Best Musical and Best Revival of a Musical nominees would perform, including Hell's Kitchen, Illinoise, The Outsiders, SuffsWater for ElephantsCabaret, Merrily We Roll Along, and The Who's Tommy. In the wake of that news, fans took to social media to ask why the unusually musical Best Play nominee was not included in the list of planned performances, with playwright Adjmi posting on X (formerly Twitter), "We wanted to perform but they weren't into it. We tried!"

Still notably absent from the announced performances are any currently running musicals that were left out of the production categories, including The Notebook, The Great Gatsby, The Wiz, and The Heart of Rock and Roll. Getting a Best Musical or Best Revival of a Musical nominee is usually the pathway to performing at the Tony Awards, but in recent years, several shows have performed without being nominated, including A Beautiful Noise in 2023 and The Cher Show in 2019.

Also newly announced is a new roster of stage and screen favorites who will make appearances during the ceremony, including Utkarsh Ambudkar, Nate Burleson, Cynthia Erivo, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Josh Gad, Renée Elise Goldsberry, Sean Hayes, Taraji P. Henson, Julianne Hough, Jennifer Hudson, Angelina Jolie, Nick Jonas, Idina Menzel, Ashley Park, Jim Parsons, Wendell Pierce, Ben Platt, Anthony Ramos, Andrew Rannells, Solomon Thomas, Taylor Tomlinson, Pete Townshend, Tamara Tunie, Adrienne Warren, Patrick Wilson, and Jeffrey Wright.

For the fourth year in a row, this year's Tony Awards will be presented as a split broadcast. The Tony Awards: Act One, a 90-minute pre-show of live and exclusive content hosted by Julianne Hough and Utkarsh Ambudkar, will stream on Pluto TV's ET channel beginning at 6:30 PM ET. The main awards ceremony will follow at 8 PM ET, hosted by West Side Story Oscar winner Ariana DeBose for the third consecutive year. The awards portion will broadcast live on CBS, and stream live (for subscribers with the Showtime add-on) via Paramount+. All Paramount+ subscribers will have on demand access to the broadcast beginning June 17.

Check Playbill throughout the evening for the latest in Tony Awards coverage, including photos from the red carpet, a continually updated list of winners, analysis from Playbill's theatre experts, and more.

Nominations for the 2024 Tony Awards were revealed April 30, with Hell's Kitchen and Stereophonic taking the mantle as the most Tony-nominated productions of the season with 13 nods each. See the full list of nominations here.

For all things Tony Awards, visit Playbill.com/Tonys.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!