The Rocky Horror Show 50th Anniversary Tour Screens Live March 30 | Playbill

International News The Rocky Horror Show 50th Anniversary Tour Screens Live March 30

The Australian tour launched in February at Theatre Royal Sydney.

Jason Donovan Hugo Glendenning

The 50th anniversary Australian touring production of The Rocky Horror Show, which launched February 14 at Theatre Royal Sydney, is broadcast live from the venue into cinemas around Australia March 30 via Trafalgar Releasing.

Tickets are available at

Trafalgar CEO Marc Allenby said in an earlier statement, "We're delighted to be celebrating the 50th Anniversary of The Rocky Horror Show with a live broadcast from Theatre Royal Sydney to cinemas across Australia. This is our first live broadcast from an Australian venue, and it’s fantastic to be working with the team at the theatre and our partners within the Trafalgar Entertainment Group to bring one of the world’s favorite musicals to cinema audiences across the continent for the first time.”

Following the Sydney engagement, the tour will arrive April 13 at the Adelaide Festival Theatre and May 18 at Melbourne’s Atheneum Theatre.

Directed by Christopher Luscombe, the production features Jason Donovan as Frank 'N' Furter, Myf Warhurst as The Narrator, Stellar Perry as Magenta, Ellis Dolan as Eddie/Dr. Scott, Darcey Eagle as Columbia, Ethan Jones as Brad, Deirdre Khoo as Janet, Loredo Malcolm as Rocky, and Henry Rollo as Riff Raff.

The Phantoms are played by Josh Gates, Catty Hamilton, Jackson Reedman, and Erica Wild. Keane Fletcher and Kristina McNamara round out the cast as swings.

Written and created by Richard O’Brien, The Rocky Horror Show bowed in London in 1973. It played Broadway's Belasco Theatre March 10-April 5, 1975, with a cast led by Tim Curry, Jamie Donnelly, and Meat Loaf. The 1975 film also cast Curry as Frank-N-Furter opposite Susan Sarandon's Janet Weiss and Barry Bostwick's Brad Majors. The Tony-nominated 2000 revival at New York's Circle in the Square Theatre boasted a cast that included Dick Cavett, Lea DeLaria, Jarrod Emick, Tom Hewitt, Joan Jett, Alice Ripley, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Raúl Esparza, Sebastian LaCause, and Kevin Cahoon.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show: Let’s Do the Time Warp Again, a remake of the cult classic, was broadcast on Fox in October 2020 featuring Laverne Cox as Dr. Frank-N-Furter, Tim Curry as Criminologist Narrator, Victoria Justice as Janet Weiss, Ryan McCartan as Brad Majors, Reeve Carney as Riff Raff, Christina Milian as Magenta, Annaleigh Ashford as Columbia, Adam Lambert as Eddie, Staz Nair as Rocky Horror, Ben Vereen as Dr. Everett Scott, and Ivy Levan as Usherette.

The musical tells the story of Brad and his fiancée Janet, two squeaky clean college kids who meet Dr. Frank ’N’ Furter, an extra-terrestrial mad scientist from the galaxy of Transylvania where people really like to party.

The touring production also has set design by Hugh Durrant, costume design by Sue Blane, choreography by Nathan M Wright, lighting design by Nick Richings, and original music arrangements by Richard Hartley.

The 50th Anniversary Rocky Horror Show is produced in Australia by Rocky Horror Company Ltd.

For ticket information click here.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!