Shaina Taub Wins Best Original Score at 2024 Tony Awards for Suffs | Playbill

Tony Awards Shaina Taub Wins Best Original Score at 2024 Tony Awards for Suffs

The win is Taub's second after taking Best Book of a Musical earlier in the evening.

Shaina Taub Heather Gershonowitz

Shaina Taub received the award for Best Original Score for Suffs at the 77th Annual Tony Awards, held at Lincoln Center's David H. Koch Theater June 16.

"To all of the theatre kids out there watching—especially the wild little girls—go for it," a very emotional Taub said from the stage. "You can do it. You are powerful. You are valuable. You are going to doubt yourself. It's okay. I doubt myself all the time, but you can do it. I'm rooting for you."

Suffs, a new musical written by and starring Taub, officially opened April 18 at Broadway's Musc Box Theatre. The work received six total nominations, including Best Musical, and Taub herself received a second nod for Best Book. 

Others in the Best Score category included Adam Guettel for Days of Wine and Roses, David Byrne and Fatboy Slim for Here Lies Love, Jamestown Revival (Jonathan Clay and Zach Chance) and Justin Levine for The Outsiders, and Will Butler for Stereophonic.

Set in the years leading up to the 19th amendment, Suffs explores the Women's Suffrage movement's victories and failures. The musical previously had a sold-out run at the Public Theater in 2022. Jill Furman and Rachel Sussman produce the Broadway premiere, with Hillary Clinton and Malala Yousafzai as co-producers.

READ: Inside the Process of Writing (and Rewriting) the 36 Songs of Suffs

Taub is reprising her Off-Broadway performance as Alice Paul, alongside Tony winner Nikki M. James (The Book of Mormon) as Ida B. Wells, Tony nominee Jenn Colella (Come From Away) as Carrie Chapman Catt, Grace McLean (Natasha, Pierre and The Great Comet of 1812) as President Woodrow Wilson, Hannah Cruz as Inez Milholland, Kim Blanck as Ruza Wenclawska, Anastacia McCleskey (Waitress) as Mary Church Terrell, Ally Bonino as Lucy Burns, Tsilala Brock as Dudley Malone, Nadia Dandashi as Doris Stevens, Tony nominee Emily Skinner (Side Show) as Alva Belmont/Phoebe Burn, Laila Erica Drew as Phyllis Terrell/Robin, and Jaygee Macapugay (Here Lies Love) as Mollie Hay. All cast members—save for Skinner, McCleskey, Blanck, and Drew—were part of the Off-Broadway production. Bonino, Dandashi, and Drew make their Broadway debuts in the show.

The ensemble includes Jenna Bainbridge, Dana Costello, Monica Tulia Ramirez, and Ada Westfall. Hawley Gould is the alternate for Alice Paul, with the company rounded out by swings Christine Heesun Hwang, Chessa Metz, Kirsten Scott, Housson Semon, and D'Kaylah Unique Whitley.

WATCH: Look Back on Suffs' Journey to Broadway

Director Leigh Silverman again directs the Broadway production, which features a largely new creative team. Aside from returning music supervisor and music director Andrea Grody, the Broadway creative team includes Suffs newcomers choreographer Mayte Natalio, scenic designer Riccardo Hernández, costume designer Paul Tazewell, lighting designer Lap Chi Chu, sound designer Jason Crystal, and orchestrator Michael Starobin. 101 Productions is the general manager.

READ: How to Watch and Stream the 2024 Tony Awards

Check Playbill throughout the evening for the latest in Tony Awards coverage, including photos from the red carpet, a continually updated list of winners, analysis from Playbill's theatre experts, and more.

For more about the Tony Awards, visit

Photos: Shaina Taub's Suffs on Broadway

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!