Christine Ebersole, Norm Lewis, Andrew Rannells, More Will Celebrate Patti LuPone at York Theatre Company Gala | Playbill

Awards Christine Ebersole, Norm Lewis, Andrew Rannells, More Will Celebrate Patti LuPone at York Theatre Company Gala

Producer Jamie deRoy will also be honored at the November event.

Christine Ebersole, Norm Lewis, Andrew Rannells, and Patti LuPone

The York Theatre Company, as previously reported, will honor three-time Tony winner Patti LuPone (Company, Evita, Gypsy) with the 2023 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Outstanding Achievement in Musical Theater at the 31st Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala this fall.

Producer, performer, and variety show host Jamie deRoy will also receive The York Theatre Company Founders’ Award at the event November 13 at The Edison Rooftop.

Currently scheduled to perform at the benefit are Charles Busch, Christine Ebersole, Bridget Everett, Norm Lewis, and Andrew Rannells. York Theatre Associate Artistic Director Gerry McIntyre will direct and host the gala with musical direction by Deniz Cordell.

York Producing Artistic Director James Morgan says, “We are—to quote our award’s namesake, Oscar Hammerstein II—simply ‘bustin’ out all over’ with pride that Patti LuPone is this year’s Hammerstein Award recipient. What an extraordinary career Patti has had, and how fitting that she’ll join the roster of musical theatre luminaries who have received this honor, beginning with Stephen Sondheim in 1988. We’re thrilled that Gerry McIntyre is putting together the evening for this Broadway legend, and to have Jamie deRoy as our Founders’ Award honoree makes this gala even more exciting and meaningful.”

The Oscar Hammerstein Award, created in 1988 by York Founding Artistic Director Janet Hayes Walker, recognizes significant lifetime achievement in musical theatre. Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden and Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander and Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton, Joseph Stein, George S. Irving, Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick, Thomas Meehan, Barbara Cook, Paul Gemignani, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Angela Lansbury, Joel Grey, Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt, Susan Stroman, André De Shields, Richard Maltby, Jr. and David Shire, and, most recently, Leslie Uggams.

The Founders’ Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant impact on the sustainability of the arts. Past recipients include York Founding Artistic Director Walker, W. David McCoy, Sarah Tod Smith, Molly Grose, Robert Goldberg, Gerald F. Fisher, Betty Cooper Wallerstein, Riki Kane Larimer, Elisa Loti Stein, and Ted Chapin.

Ticket information is available by clicking here.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!