Audra McDonald, Harvey Fierstein, Laurie Metcalf, More to Present NY Drama Critics' Circle Awards | Playbill

Awards Audra McDonald, Harvey Fierstein, Laurie Metcalf, More to Present NY Drama Critics' Circle Awards

Brandon Uranowitz and Carolee Carmello have also been announced to participate.

Audra Mcdonald, Harvey Fierstein, and Laurie Metcalf

Presenting this year's New York Drama Critics' Circle Awards will be 2023 Tony nominees Audra McDonald and Brandon Uranowitz along with four-time Tony winner Harvey Fierstein, two-time Tony winner Laurie Metcalf, and three-time Tony nominee Carolee Carmello. The 87th annual awards will be presented privately May 23.

Bruce Norris's Downstate, which made its New York premiere at Off-Broadway's Playwrights Horizons last fall, will take home the award for Best Play while Best Foreign Play will go to Tom Stoppard's Leopoldstadt which continues its Broadway run at the Longacre Theatre.

Special citations will be awarded to the Broadway revival of Parade, playwright Adrienne Kennedy for lifetime achievement, and La MaMa for ongoing achievement in Off-Off-Broadway theatre.

An award will not be given for Best Musical as the first ballot was divided. The 18 voters, all drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, and websites based in the New York City area, were only able to come to an agreement to not name a winner in the category. Seven votes were cast for Some Like It Hot, with three votes cast for Dreaming Zenzile, and two cast each for The AppointmentShucked, and The Bedwetter. Three voters abstained.

Since 2005, Time Out New York's Adam Feldman has served as president of the awards. Joe Dziemianowicz serves as Vice President with Zachary Stewart serving as treasurer. Additional members include David Barbour, David Cote, Vinson Cunningham, Greg Evans, David Finkle, Elysa Gardner, Robert Hofler, Charles Isherwood, Chris Jones, Soraya Nadia McDonald, Johnny Oleksinski, Frank Scheck, Helen Shaw, David Sheward, Marilyn Stasio, Elisabeth Vincentelli and Matt Windman. Emeritus members include Melissa Rose Bernardo, Christopher Kelly, Brian Scott Lipton, David Rooney, Michael Sommers, Steven Suskin, and Linda Winer.



Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!