Aisha Jackson, Jennifer Damiano, More to Sing on 2022 Write Out Loud Album | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums Aisha Jackson, Jennifer Damiano, More to Sing on 2022 Write Out Loud Album

The release includes winning songs from the program co-founded by Taylor Louderman that celebrates emerging musical theatre writers.

Aisha Jackson Heather Gershonowitz

The Write Out Loud songwriting contest will release its fourth album of winners' songs November 5, with Broadway favorites Aisha Jackson, Jennifer Damiano, Nathan Levy, and Gabrielle Carrubba providing vocals.

The EP will include the three winning singles from this year's Write Out Loud contest: "Cool," by Natalie Myrick, performed by Jackson; "It's Not Pretty to Be Crazy," by Elyza Tuan, performed by Damiano; and "The Ugly Side of Me," by Emmet Smith, performed by Levy and Carrubba. Music direction is by Benjamin Rauhala, and ochestrations are by The Broadway Sinfonietta's Macy Schmidt.

The digital release will be accompanied by music videos for each of the three songs, all directed by Matt Rodin. The videos will be available on Write Out Loud's YouTube channel.

The contest, launched in 2019, celebrates new musical theatre writers. Past winners include India Angel, Ethan Carlson, Matt Copley, Taylor Fagins, Chloe Geller, Anna M Johnson, Joriah Kwamé, Brandon Michael Lowden, Kailey Marshall, Alexander Sage Oyen, Matt Pena, Kat Siciliano, and Mackenzie Szabo.

The 2023 edition of the contest begins taking submissions January 1, 2023. For more information about this year’s winners and the competition, visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!