Willie Nelson Releases Gershwin Tribute Album | Playbill

News Willie Nelson Releases Gershwin Tribute Album Willie Nelson says George and Ira Gershwin wrote "some of the greatest songs ever," and the country music star is putting his money where his vocal cords are, releasing "Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin," a tribute album to the Broadway tunesmiths, on Feb. 26.

The Sony Legacy album includes "I Got Rhythm" from Girl Crazy, "Someone To Watch Over Me" from Oh, Kay!, "Embraceable You" (a duet with Sheryl Crow) from East Is West, "Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off" (a duet with Cyndi Lauper) from the film "Shall we Dance," and "It Ain't Necessarily So" and the title song from Porgy and Bess.

{asset::caption} {asset::credit}

Here is a clip of Nelson recording the latter song:

And the appreciation goes both ways. In November the multiple award-winning singer/songwriter became the first country artist to receive the Gershwin Prize for Popular Song.

Here is the complete track list, in order:

1. “But Not for Me” with Willie Nelson
2. “Somebody Loves Me” with Willie Nelson
3. “Someone to Watch Over Me” with Willie Nelson
4. “Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off” with Willie Nelson, featuring Cyndi Lauper
5. “It Ain’t Necessarily So” with Willie Nelson
6. “I Got Rhythm” with Willie Nelson
7. “Love Is Here to Stay” with Willie Nelson
8. “They All Laughed” with Willie Nelson
9. “Embraceable You” with Willie Nelson, featuring Sheryl Crow
10. “They Can’t Take That Away from Me” with Willie Nelson
11. “Summertime” with Willie Nelson

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!