Veteran Broadway Costumers Honored With 2015 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards | Playbill

News Veteran Broadway Costumers Honored With 2015 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards Jess Goldstein, Tony Award-winning designer for Jersey Boys and On the Town, and Douglas W. Schmidt (42nd Street), will be honored at the 2015 TDF/Irene Sharaff Awards, which will be presented May 1 at 6:30 PM at the Hudson Theatre. The awards pay tribute to the art of costume design.

Goldstein was selected to receive the 2015 TDF/Irene Sharaff Lifetime Achievement Award. Schmidt, whose Broadway career stretches back to the early 1970s, will receive the Robert L.B. Tobin Award for Sustained Excellence in Theatrical Design.

Brian C. Hemesath, currently represented on Broadway with Honeymoon in Vegas, will receive the TDF/Irene Sharaff Young Master Award. The TDF/Irene Sharaff Artisan Award will go to custom shoe designer Gino Gifulco--T.O. Dey Shoes.

The May 1 ceremony will include a special memorial tribute to legendary costume and scenic designer Raoul Pene du Bois with a screening of an original 15-minute film on his life, created by designer Suzy Benzinger.

Founded in 1993, the awards honor legendary designer Irene Sharaff, who designed numerous Broadway productions, including the original stagings of Lady in the Dark, West Side Story, The King and I, Juno, Sweet Charity, Funny Girl, Candide and Jerome Robbins' Broadway.

For further information visit

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!