Read Reviews for Ars Nova’s New Musical The Lucky Ones | Playbill

The Verdict Read Reviews for Ars Nova’s New Musical The Lucky Ones The autobiographical work from The Bengsons opened March 31 at Off-Broadway’s Connelly Theater.
Abigail Bengson and the cast of The Lucky Ones Ben Arons Photography

Ars Nova, piece by piece productions, and Z Space celebrated the world-premiere opening of the musical The Lucky Ones, a new work by husband and wife electro-folk duo Abigail and Shaun Bengson, playwright Sarah Gancher, director Anne Kauffman, and choreographer Sonya Tayeh (the creative team behind last year’s acclaimed Hundred Days musical), March 31.

Abigail and Shaun Bengson Marielle Solan

Like Hundred Days, which drew on the The Bengsons' real lives and marriage, The Lucky Ones weaves a memory tale of youthful passion, ideals lived to the limits, family shattered, and faith lost. Performances began in The Connelly Theater March 19 and are scheduled through April 21.

The complete 18-member ensemble cast of The Lucky Ones is made up of Abigail and Shaun Bengson, Damon Daunno (Hadestown), Mia DeWeese, Tilly Evans-Krueger (Company XIV's Nutcracker Rouge), Lenin Fernandez, Ashley Pérez Flanagan (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Lindsey Hailes, Dani Markham, Zach McNally (Fiddler on The Roof), Jennifer Morris (The Civilians), Tom Nelis (Indecent, The Visit, Aida), Tony winner Maryann Plunkett (Me and My Girl, Apple Family Plays), Pearl Rhein (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Ida Saki, Myra Lucretia Taylor (Nine, Mule Bone), Adina Verson (Indecent), and Amelia Workman (Tender Napalm, The Shipment).

Read reviews for the new production below:

The New York Times (Jesse Green)

Time Out New York (Sandy MacDonald)

Playbill will continue to update with reviews as they are published.

The Lucky Ones features music and lyrics by The Bengsons and a book co-written with Gancher.

The creative team includes Rachel Hauck (scenic design), Ásta Bennie Hostetter (costume design), Amith Chandrashaker (lighting design), Nick Kourtides (sound design), Noah Mease (prop design), Kimberly Grigsby (music supervision), Wiley DeWeese (music direction), Amanda Spooner (production stage manager) and Henry Russell Bergstein (casting).

For tickets and more information visit

Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!