Nick Scandalios Will Receive Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award | Playbill

Tony Awards Nick Scandalios Will Receive Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award Scandalios is the executive vice president of the Nederlander Organization.
Nick Scandalios Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Nederlander Organization Executive Vice President Nick Scandalios has been named the recipient of the 2018 Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award.

The Award is presented annually to a member of the theatre community who has “made a substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service or charitable organizations.” Scandalios is being honored for his advocacy and dedication to LGBTQ families nationwide.

Scandalios joined Family Equality Council’s Board of Directors in May 2008; prior to his board service, he dedicated hours of his time volunteering to help further the rights and increase the safety of LGBTQ parents and their children. Scandalios was elected the Board Chair in 2014, speaking across the country and serving as a public spokesperson for LGBTQ families. He was instrumental in the Family Equality Council’s work, contributing to the movement’s success in winning marriage equality through the Windsor and Obergefell Supreme Court rulings.

“Whatever Nick does, he does with passion, pride and purpose. Whether it’s his work on-stage or off, he gives 100% of himself,” said Charlotte St. Martin, president of The Broadway League, and Heather Hitchens, president & CEO of the American Theatre Wing, in a statement. “In a time that is so critical for the LGBTQ community, his work and his commitment to the Family Equality Council has never been more important or inspiring. We could not be more proud to present Nick with this year’s Isabelle Stevenson Award.”

Scandalios is also a past Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Broadway League. He also serves on the Board of Trustees for Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS. This year marks his 31st anniversary with the Nederlander Organization, one of the largest owners of legitimate theatres in the world, as well as one of the largest theatrical producing organizations in North America.

As previously announced, the ceremony will also honor Andrew Lloyd Webber and Chita Rivera with Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre distinctions.

The 72nd Annual Tony Awards, hosted by Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban, will air on CBS June 10 at 8 PM ET live from Radio City Music Hall. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.


Inside the Dedication Ceremony for the James M. Nederlander Alley

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!