Semifinalists Announced for Page 73's 2024 Playwriting Fellowship | Playbill

Off-Broadway News Semifinalists Announced for Page 73's 2024 Playwriting Fellowship

The 21st Fellow will receive an unrestricted award of $20,000, a development budget, and the presentation of a new work.

Page 73, which develops and produces the work of early-career playwrights who have yet to receive a professional production in New York City, has announced the 12 semifinalists for its 2024 Page 73 Playwriting Fellowship.

Semifinalists include jose sebastian alberdi, Calley N. Anderson, Brysen Boyd, Jake Brasch, Garrett David Kim, Forest Malley, Ankita Raturi, Stacey Rose, Genevieve Simon, Marissa Joyce Stamps, May Treuhaft-Ali, and Elinor T Vanderburg.

This year marks an increase in the fellowships honorarium. The playwright selected will now receive $20,000 in addition to a public workshop and a $10,000 discretionary budget for the Fellow to direct towards developing further work. 

Additionally, Playwrights in the annual Interstate 73 writing group will now receive a stipend of $3,000 each. In December, Page 73 will announce Fellowship finalists and in January 2024, the organization will announce its 2024 Fellow, alongside members of the 2024 Interstate 73 writers group.

Previous Fellows include Marvin González De León (2022), Bleu Beckford-Burrell (2021), Emma Goidel (2020), Sanaz Toossi (2019), C.A. Johnson (2018), John J. Caswell, Jr. (2017), Hansol Jung (2016), Nick Gandiello (2015), Clare Barron (2014), Caroline V. McGraw (2013), Max Posner (2012), Janine Nabers (2011), Eliza Clark (2010), Heidi Schreck (2009), Tommy Smith (2008), Krista Knight (2007), Jason Grote (2006), Quiara Alegría Hudes (2005), and Kirsten Greenidge (2004).

Since its founding in 1997, Page 73 has focused on nurturing early-career playwrights and expanding the theatrical canon. In 2020 the organization was honored with an Obie Award “for providing extraordinary support for early career playwrights.” Page 73 developed and, with Playwrights Horizons, produced the world premiere of Michael R. Jackson’s Pulitzer Prize- and Tony-winning A Strange Loop. 

Click here for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!