Semifinalists Announced for Page 73's 2023 Playwriting Fellowship | Playbill

Off-Broadway News Semifinalists Announced for Page 73's 2023 Playwriting Fellowship

The 20th Fellow will receive an unrestricted award of $10,000, a development budget, and the presentation of a new work.

Page 73, which develops and produces the work of early-career playwrights who have yet to receive a professional production in New York City, has announced the 13 semifinalists for its 2023 Page 73 Playwriting Fellowship. 

Semifinalists include Lucas Baisch, Benjamin Benne, Majkin Holmquist, Mary Lyon Kamitaki, Shayan Lotfi, Gloria Majule, Genne Murphy, jeremy o'brian, Charlie Oh, Audley Puglisi, Scott R. Sheppard, Genevieve Simon, and Noelle Viñas. 

In December the organization will reveal the finalists, all of whom will receive a $1,000 honorarium. In January 2023 Page 73 will announce its 20th Fellow, alongside members of the 2023 Interstate 73 writers group. 

The 2023 Fellow will receive artistic and financial resources to develop one or more new plays. The playwright will be honored with an unrestricted award of $10,000 and a development budget (managed by Page 73 and the Fellow over the course of the year) up to $10,000. The Fellow will work with Page 73 on at least one public presentation of a new play with directors, designers, and actors.

Previous Fellows include Marvin González De León (2022), Bleu Beckford-Burrell (2021), Emma Goidel (2020), Sanaz Toossi (2019), C.A. Johnson (2018), John J. Caswell, Jr. (2017), Hansol Jung (2016), Nick Gandiello (2015), Clare Barron (2014), Caroline V. McGraw (2013), Max Posner (2012), Janine Nabers (2011), Eliza Clark (2010), Heidi Schreck (2009), Tommy Smith (2008), Krista Knight (2007), Jason Grote (2006), Quiara Alegría Hudes (2005), and Kirsten Greenidge (2004).

The news arrives in the lead-up to Page 73 and Working Theater’s world premiere of 2021 Page 73 Playwriting Fellow Bleu Beckford-Burrell’s La Race, set for November 21-December 23.

Since its founding in 1997, Page 73 has focused on nurturing early-career playwrights and expanding the theatrical canon. In 2020 the organization was honored with an Obie Award “for providing extraordinary support for early career playwrights.” Page 73 developed and, with Playwrights Horizons, produced the world premiere of Michael R. Jackson’s Pulitzer Prize- and Tony-winning A Strange Loop. Click here for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!