New York, New York Ensemble Receives Actors' Equity Association's Outstanding Broadway Chorus Award | Playbill

Awards New York, New York Ensemble Receives Actors' Equity Association's Outstanding Broadway Chorus Award

The annual award was the first award within the theatre industry to honor choruses and ensembles in the original companies of Broadway musicals.

Anna Uzele and Cast of New York, New York Emilio Madrid

The ensemble of Kander and Ebb's New York, New York will receive the 2023 ACCA Award for Outstanding Broadway Chorus from Actors' Equity Association. The annual award, first presented in 2007 to the ensemble of Legally Blonde, was the first award within the theatre industry to honor the choruses and ensembles of original Broadway companies.

The ensemble members of New York, New York will receive the award in a private ceremony at the St. James Theatre July 19. The award is selected based upon a criteria that examines the chorus requirements made by each production's director, choreographer, and musical director; the caliber of technical skill used to execute those requirements; and the unique contributions made by the entire chorus to the overall production. The nominators for the ACCA Award are all chorus performers themselves, and members of the ACCA (Equity's Advisory Committee on Chorus Affairs.)

The members of the winning ensemble of New York, New York include Wendi Bergamini, Allison Blackwell, Giovanni Bonaventura, Jim Borstelmann, Lauren Carr, Bryan J. Cortés, Kristine Covillo, Gabriella Enriquez, Haley Fish, Ashley Blair Fitzgerald, Richard Gatta, Stephen Hanna, Naomi Kakuk, Akina Kitazawa, Ian Liberto, Kevin Ligon, Leo Moctezuma, Aaron Nicholas Patterson, Dayna Marie Quincy, Julian Ramos, Drew Redington, Benjamin Rivera, Davis Wayne, Jeff Williams, and Darius Wright.

Actors' Equity Association 2nd Vice President and ACCA Chair Al Bundonis described New York, New York in a statement as a "a vibrant, diverse, joyful place" that tells a story that cannot be told without the ensemble. "They breathe life into the people, the energy and even the famous architecture of the city. The chorus of New York, New York is not just 'a part of it,' they are indeed the heart of the music, the story and love of the greatest city in the world," Bundonis said.

Also nominated for the ACCA Award this season were the chorus members of  & JulietKPOPShuckedSome Like It Hot and Sweeney Todd. Other previous winners of the award include the chorus members of In the HeightsWest Side StoryNewsies, and Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812.

Broadway's newest Kander and Ebb musical New York, New York opened April 26 at the St. James Theatre after beginning previews March 24. The all-star creative team is led by five-time Tony winner Susan Stroman, who directs and choreographs the production with music and lyrics by John Kander and Fred Ebb, a book by David Thompson and co-written by Sharon Washington, and additional lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Inspired by the 1977 film written by Earl M. RauchNew York, New York is set in Manhattan in the days after World War II is over. A collection of artists has dreams as big and diverse as the city itself, among them Francine Evans, a young singer just off the bus from Philly, destined for greatness. At least, until she encounters New York native Jimmy Doyle, a brilliant but disillusioned musician.

Colton Ryan and Anna Uzele lead the cast as Jimmy Doyle and Francine Evans, respectively, along with Clyde Alves as Tommy Caggiano, John Clay III as Jesse Webb, Janet Dacal as Sofia Diaz, Ben Davis as Gordon Kendrick, Oliver Prose as Alex Mann, Angel Sigala as Mateo Diaz, and Emily Skinner as Madame Veltri.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!