Jack O’Brien and George C. Wolfe Will Receive 2024 Special Tony Awards for Lifetime Achievement | Playbill

Tony Awards Jack O’Brien and George C. Wolfe Will Receive 2024 Special Tony Awards for Lifetime Achievement

Broadway's biggest night of the year is set for June 16.

Jack O'Brien and George C. Wolfe

The Tony Awards Administration Committee announced May 9 that Tony-winning directors Jack O'Brien and George C. Wolfe will each receive the 2024 Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre.

O’Brien was nominated last season for a Tony Award for his direction of the new musical Shucked. He's previously won three Tony Awards for his direction of Hairspray, Henry IV, and The Coast of Utopia. O’Brien was also the artistic director of the Old Globe Theatre from 1981–2007.

Writer, director, and producer Wolfe’s expansive career has earned him 23 Tony nominations. He's won five Tonys, including Best Direction of a Play for Angels in America: Millennium Approaches and Best Direction of a Musical for Bring in 'da Noise, Bring in 'da Funk. Additionally, Wolfe was the producer of The Public Theater/New York Shakespeare Festival from 1993–2005.

“Honoring these two gentlemen for their outstanding achievements and contributions to theatre is not only a recognition of their innate talent and dedication, but to a lifetime of brilliant work. With credits such as Hairspray and The Invention of Love, Jack O’Brien has showcased astounding diversity, skill, and passion throughout his esteemed career,” said Jason Laks, interim president of The Broadway League, in a statement. “In his role as artistic director of the Old Globe Theatre for 25 years, he also leaves a lasting legacy of strengthening the relationship between the commercial and nonprofit worlds."

Added Heather Hitchens, president and CEO of the American Theatre Wing: “Both of our honorees have shown a true commitment to the craft that has led to remarkable success across their deeply applauded breadth of work. George C. Wolfe’s stellar contributions as a playwright, director, producer, and artistic director, including his unforgettable direction in productions like Angels in America: Millennium Approaches and Bring in 'da Noise, Bring in 'da Funk, have left a lasting impression on audiences. Beyond his tremendous dedication to storytelling, he has shown an unwavering commitment to diversity and inclusion throughout his illustrious career that has shifted culture and elevated the theatre community.”

Billy Porter Will Receive the 2024 Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award

Nominations for the 2024 Tony Awards were revealed April 30, with Hell's Kitchen and Stereophonic taking the mantle as the most Tony-nominated productions of the seasons with 13 nods each. See the full list of nominations here.

Winners will be named at The 77th Annual Tony Awards, set for June 16 at Lincoln Center’s David H. Koch Theater. The evening will kick off with The Tony Awards: Act One, streaming for free on Pluto TV. Details are to be announced. The 77th Annual Tony Awards will follow beginning at 8 PM ET, broadcasting live on CBS (check local listings) and streaming live (for premium-level subscribers) via Paramount+. All Paramount+ subscribers will have on demand access to the broadcast beginning June 17. Stage and screen star Ariana DeBose will be back for the third consecutive year to host.

The Tony Awards are produced in collaboration with Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, and White Cherry Entertainment.

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss are showrunners and executive producers for White Cherry Entertainment, and Weiss will serve as director. Jack Sussman is also an executive producer.

Visit Playbill.com/Tonys for more.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!