Dwyane Wade, Gabrielle Union, Gayle King, Matthew Broderick, More Come Out for Opening Night of Broadway's Ain't No Mo' | Playbill

Photo Features Dwyane Wade, Gabrielle Union, Gayle King, Matthew Broderick, More Come Out for Opening Night of Broadway's Ain't No Mo'

Check out red carpet photos and a video of last night's curtain call celebrating the opening of Jordan E. Cooper's comedy December 1.

Ain’t No Mo’_Broadway_Opening Night_2022_
Dwyane Wade and Gabrielle Union at opening night of Ain't No Mo' Michaelah Reynolds

For opening night of Jordan E. Cooper's comedy Ain't No Mo' at Broadway's Belasco Theatre December 1, household names and stage favorites came out for the premiere. Previews began November 9 following delays due to COVID cases within the company.

Attendees for the evening included Gabrielle Union, Dwyane Wade, Gayle King, Matthew Broderick, Lee Daniels, Manu Narayan, and many more.

Ain’t No Mo’_Broadway_Opening Night_2022_
Gayle King at opening night of Ain't No Mo' Michaelah Reynolds

Ain't No Mo' takes audiences onboard Flight 1619 with Black Americans flying to Africa on one-way tickets provided by the U.S. government. The play explores the 'what if' under the guidance of flight attendant Peaches, a role reprised by Cooper from the show's 2019 world premiere Off-Broadway for his Broadway debut.

Also starring alongside Cooper are fellow Off-Broadway cast members Crystal Lucas-Perry (1776) as Passenger #5, Fedna Jacquet as Passenger #1, Marchánt Davis as Passenger #2, and Ebony Marshall-Oliver as Passenger #4 alongside Shannon Matesky as Passenger #3. Rounding out the company as understudies are Nik Alexander, Jasminn Johnson, Michael Rishawn, Kedren Spencer, Brennie Tellu, and Emma Van Lare.

Playbill was also on the scene talking to the cast. Below Lucas-Perry, who has been with the play since 2018, talks about playing multiple characters in the show.

Back at the helm from the Off-Broadway staging is director Stevie Walker-Webb, also making his Broadway debut. The production's creative team for the Broadway bow includes lighting designer Adam Honoré, scenic designer Scott Pask, costume designer Emilio Sosa, co-sound designers Jonathan Deans and Taylor Williams, and wig designer Mia M. Neal.

The producing team is led by Lee Daniels, and is joined by BET: Black Entertainment Television, Len Blavatnik, Ron Burkle, Aryeh B. Bourkoff, 59th & Prairie Entertainment, RuPaul Charles, I'll Have Another Productions, Jeremy O. Harris, Tucker Tooley Entertainment, CJ Uzomah, Ann Cox, Gina Pulia, Bob Yari, Marvin Peart, Colleen Camp, Marvet Britto, Jeremy Green, Sue Wagner, John Johnson, Jillian Robbins, and The Public Theater. Wagner Johnson Productions serve as executive producers and general managers.

Visit AintNoMoBway.com.

Check out the opening night gallery below.

See Gabrielle Union, Dwyane Wade, More Attend Opening Night of Ain't No Mo' on Broadway

Watch the opening night curtain call below.


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!