Tony Awards Admin Committee Rules on Company, Mrs. Doubtfire, The Music Man, More | Playbill

Related Articles
Tony Awards Tony Awards Admin Committee Rules on Company, Mrs. Doubtfire, The Music Man, More

Broadway's biggest honors will be handed out June 12 at Radio City Music Hall.

Cast in Company Matthew Murphy

The Tony Awards Administration Committee met March 18, their second meeting for the season, to determine eligibility for Clyde'sMrs. DoubtfireCompanyFlying Over SunsetSkeleton CrewMJ, and The Music Man.

Among the decisions were that Sutton Foster will be eligible in the Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical category for her performance as Marian Paroo in The Music Man and that the above-title-billed Patti LuPone will be eligible in the Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical for her performance in Company.

Rob McClure and Jenn Gambatese will be considered in the Leading Actor and Actress in a Musical categories for their work in Mrs. Doubtfire, along with Harry Hadden-Paton, Tony Yazbeck, and Carmen Cusack for their performances in Flying Over Sunset and Myles Frost for MJ.

In design categories, Beowulf Boritt and 59 Productions were ruled jointly eligible for Best Scenic Design of a Musical for their scenic and projection design (respectively) of Flying Over Sunset, along with Derek McLane and Peter Nigrini for their scenic and projection design (respectively) of MJ.

All other Tony eligibility for the seven productions discussed by the Admin Committee will be consistent with opening night billing.

As announced earlier this month, the 75th Annual Tony Awards will return to its traditional summer time slot for the first time since 2019, with the Broadway League and American Theatre Wing setting the ceremony for June 12 at New York City's Radio City Music Hall. Nominations for the honors will be announced May 3. With a simultaneous live stream available via Paramount+, this year's awards will be the first in Tony history to be available live nationwide.

The awards will honor the 2021-2022 Broadway season, with productions opening between February 20, 2020 (one day following the retroactively determined cut-off eligibility date for last year's honors) and April 28, 2022 eligible for nominations. These latest eligibility determinations follow the committee's first meeting in December 2021, with decisions being made for Broadway's Girl from the North Country; Pass Over; Lackawanna Blues; Six; Chicken & Biscuits; Is This A Room; Thoughts of a Colored Man; The Lehman Trilogy; Dana H.; Caroline, or Change; Diana, The Musical; and Trouble in Mind.


Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!