Mallory Bechtel Joins Cast of Broadway’s Dear Evan Hansen July 31 | Playbill

Broadway News Mallory Bechtel Joins Cast of Broadway’s Dear Evan Hansen July 31 The Tony-winning musical continues at the Music Box Theatre.
Mallory Bechtel Jenny Anderson

Mallory Bechtel makes her Broadway debut in the Tony-winning Best Musical Dear Evan Hansen at the Music Box Theatre beginning July 31.

Bechtel steps into the role of Zoe Murphy, succeeding Laura Dreyfuss, who played her final performance July 15. (Olivia Puckett played the role from July 17 to July 29.)

Houston-based Bechtel is a 2018 high school graduate who has relocated to New York to continue her studies. She can be seen in the A24 hit Hereditary and appeared in a recent episode of Law & Order: SVU.

Hello, Dolly! alum Taylor Trensch officially took his first bow as Evan Hansen February 6. The actor succeeded Noah Galvin in the role created by Tony winner Ben Platt.

Dear Evan Hansen features a score by the Tony- and Oscar-winning songwriting team of Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dogfight, A Christmas Story), a book by Tony winner Steven Levenson (Masters of Sex), choreography by Danny Mefford (Fun Home), and direction by multiple Tony nominee Michael Greif (Rent, Next to Normal, If/Then).


The Broadway company also features Alex Boniello, Rachel Bay Jones, Sky Lakota-Lynch, Jennifer Laura Thompson, Michael Park, and Phoenix Best.

As previously announced, Lisa Brescia will take on the role of Heidi Hansen beginning August 7; she will succeed Rachel Bay Jones, who earned a Tony Award for originating the part. Jones will take her final bow at the Music Box Theatre August 5.

Take a First Look at Taylor Trensch in Dear Evan Hansen

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!